This page was last updated: November 18, 2017
Morelia

La Casa de las Artesanías
Fray Juan de San Miguel #129, Morelia

Mercado de Dulces 
Avenida Madero Poniente at Valentín Gómez Farías. Open daily, 8 am to 9 pm

* * * * * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * * * * *
Museo del Dulce  
The oldest family of candy makers in Morelia, 
since 1840 on Av. Madero #440

* * * * * * * * * * *
Calzada Fray Antonio de San Miguel
Perhaps the most unusual remnant of Morelian times gone by is the three-quarter-mile-long Calzada Fray Antonio de San Miguel, a tree-lined processional walkway completed in the mid-1700s, paved with limestone and lined with stone benches. The Calzada connected the city to a shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe, but now it's a beautiful pedestrian causeway conducive to reflection as well as passionate encounters.

Palacio Clavijero
The former Jesuit seminary called the Palacio Clavijero, begun in 1660 and now occupied by the Michoacán state government. It is perhaps the city's brightest architectural gem, its two tiers of graceful colonnades bespeaking temporal power and celestial affinity. 
* * * * * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * * * * *
Fuente Las Tarascas 
On Plaza Villalongín, this iconic fountain erupts from a fruit tray held by three beautiful, topless Tarascan women. The original vanished mysteriously in 1940 and this reproduction was installed in the 1960s.

* * * * * * * * * * *
Postcard from early 1950's
Hotel Casino, Ave. Madero
across from Plaza Morelia
Photo from 2016
Hotel Casino, Ave. Madero
across from Plaza Morelia